Coverage Levels: The Metal Tiers

Covered California health insurance plans — and all health plans in the individual and small-group markets — are sold in four levels of coverage: Bronze, Silver, Gold and Platinum. As the metal category increases in value, so does the percentage of medical expenses that a health plan covers compared with what you are expected to pay in co-pays and deductibles.  

On average, Platinum-level plans cover 90 percent of health care costs, and you pay 10 percent; Gold plans cover 80 percent, while you pay 20 percent; Silver plans cover 70 percent, while you pay 30 percent; and Bronze plans cover 60 percent, while you pay 40 percent.  Plans in higher metal categories have higher monthly premiums, but when you need medical care, you pay less. Alternatively, you can choose to pay a lower monthly premium, and when you need medical care, you pay more. You can choose the level of coverage that best meets your health care needs and budget. 

Some customers also have the option of buying minimum coverage plans, or catastrophic plans. These plans have low monthly premiums and protect you in the event that the worst-case scenario happens.

Edit this card
Want to get started with Covered California?

Edit this component

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback.

thumb_up Yes
thumb_down No

Edit this card
Can’t find what you're looking for?
Please contact our customer support directly.