Starting in 2020, California residents must either:
- Have qualifying health insurance coverage, or
- Pay a penalty when filing a state tax return, or
- Get an exemption from the requirement to have coverage.
The penalty for not having coverage the entire year will be at least $850 per adult and $425 per dependent child under 18 in the household when you file your 2022 state income tax return in 2023. A family of four that goes uninsured for the whole year would face a penalty of at least $2,550.
The penalty will be applied by the California Franchise Tax Board. For information about the penalty, including the amount your family could owe for not having coverage, visit the Franchise Tax Board’s website and use their Penalty Estimator Tool.
Want to get started with Covered California?
Edit this component
Was this article helpful?
Thanks for your feedback.
Edit this card
Can't find what you're looking for?
Please contact our customer support directly.